Edible Erin

Grandma’s Fluffy Banana Bread May 10, 2010

Filed under: Baking — edibleerin @ 10:48 pm

I got a little carried away at the grocery store last week—because the bananas looked so good (an unusual situation in Lexington), I bought five.  Turns out, it’s difficult for one person to eat five bananas before they start to go brown.  I debated eating the least-spotty of the bunch for awhile, but then I gave up and did what I always do when faced with bananas the color of dirt: bake banana bread (or in this case, banana muffins).  Of course, there are thousands of banana bread recipes out there.  But my whole life, my mom has used the same recipe, and I can’t convince myself to try anything different.  I’m probably divulging some highly-guarded family secret (the recipe is my mom’s maternal grandmother’s, hence the name), but let’s face it: this banana bread is darn good, and my only readers are in my family anyway. So here it is….

Grandma’s Banana Bread

Ingredients:

3 small bananas, mashed (I always just guess on the bananas. This time, I used 2 large bananas)
2 c. flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. baking soda
1/2 tsp. salt (I never bake with salt, but I do understand the value behind it)
1/2 c. canola oil (Grandma used shortening, but either works)
1 c. sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 c. buttermilk
**Mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, if desired

Preheat the oven to 350.  In one bowl, mash bananas.  In another, sift together flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt if you’re using it; set aside.  In a final bowl, beat the canola oil, sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Add the sifted ingredients alternately with the mashed bananas, beating each, until complete.  Add the buttermilk and blend together.  [If using chocolate chips, stir in.]  Pour the batter into two greased & floured 9″ layer cake pans and bake for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown. Bread is done when toothpick inserted in center comes out clean or the bread springs back when you push on it with a finger.  **This recipe can also be used for muffins (it makes 24), but the baking time will decrease so make sure to keep an eye on them.

Note:  My mom often spreads some peanut butter on hers, and I tend to do the same. Trust me, it’s delicious (whipped cream is another good topping, although they’re just as yummy plain).

 

Leave a comment